Relearning Tire Pressure Monitors
Trying to find the perfect tire size for your new wheels? Trying to figure out the offset you need for your desired fitment?

milmast
Posts: 123
Joined: November 7th, 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada

Relearning Tire Pressure Monitors

by milmast » January 19th, 2015

I'm not sure if this thread will go here but it makes sense to me. Anyways I've got a summer and winter set of wheels, with OEM Honda TPMS sensors in each of them. I've switched over to the winter wheels as everyone else, however I'd rather relearn the winter TMP sensors to my car on my own, rather than go to Honda or a tire shop and pay them 40 bucks to do it. Has anyone done this to their ride? Thanks for the help in advance guys!! :)
Static Black Accord Coupe
Image milmast YouTube => http://goo.gl/1BsLa9
Image milmast Instagram => http://goo.gl/8MWPBK

User avatar
mcbtay
Site Admin
Posts: 495
Joined: October 30th, 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Relearning Tire Pressure Monitors

by mcbtay » January 19th, 2015

Local tire shops around me (Kauffman Tire for example) do this for free. Why would you go to a dealer for this?

milmast
Posts: 123
Joined: November 7th, 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Relearning Tire Pressure Monitors

by milmast » January 19th, 2015

Man must be nice!! Does your tire shop do it for free when you swap tires with them?
Static Black Accord Coupe
Image milmast YouTube => http://goo.gl/1BsLa9
Image milmast Instagram => http://goo.gl/8MWPBK

User avatar
mcbtay
Site Admin
Posts: 495
Joined: October 30th, 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Relearning Tire Pressure Monitors

by mcbtay » January 27th, 2015

No idea on the swapping tires part. I called Kauffman to ask what they'd charge and they said nothing, just to bring it in. Was literally a 5 minute job.

User avatar
teezythakidd
Posts: 120
Joined: November 13th, 2014
Location: Tri-State Area, USA

Re: Relearning Tire Pressure Monitors

by teezythakidd » January 27th, 2015

yeah dude! just go to your local tire shop and have them do it.
"Information is not knowledge." – Albert Einstein

Frostbit44
Posts: 2
Joined: May 5th, 2015

Re: Relearning Tire Pressure Monitors

by Frostbit44 » February 29th, 2016

FYI...Discount Tire does this free. You don't even have to put your car in a bay. I have 20" Vossen CV7s with Oro-Tek 0003As TPMSs on an coupe and it literally took the tech about 8 minutes to relearn. Any Honda dealership will charge or tell you they do not relearn aftermarket TPMSs. I even told the guy that I "read DT does this free even if you did not have any services done" and BOOM, 8 minutes later....done. You will see the low tire indicator (NOT TPMS indicator) blink a few times and the TPMS will cut off on its own.

If you wanna pay to get the gear and do it yourself.....be ready to pay close to a grip!
or get it done free in 8-10 minutes!

User avatar
teezythakidd
Posts: 120
Joined: November 13th, 2014
Location: Tri-State Area, USA

Re: Relearning Tire Pressure Monitors

by teezythakidd » June 2nd, 2017

Bump

Honda quoted me $215 to replace a dead TPMS sensor at my RR tire. Labor and part. I see that aftermarket sensors are a fraction of that cost... but installation isn't exactly something you do on your own, I reckon. I'm gonna call around some local tire shops and see what offers they have
"Information is not knowledge." – Albert Einstein

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

It is currently August 4th, 2020